Logo Header
Achieve with us.

The Arc NCR Announces New Board Members - The Arc Northern Chesapeake Region

The Arc NCR Announces New Board Members

The Arc NCR Announces New Board Members

[Aberdeen, MD] August 22, 2017The Arc Northern Chesapeake Region (The Arc NCR) announces the appointment of four new members to its Governance Board and Foundation Board, as well as the full slate of officers and board members for 2017-2018.

Joining the Governance Board is Stephanie Dinsmore, University of Maryland Upper Chesapeake Health and Karol Edwards, MedStar Health.  Joining the Foundation Board are Detra Miller, M&T Bank and Jeffrey Rink, The Harford Mutual Insurance Companies.

Stephanie Dinsmore is the Vice President of Physician Services at University of Maryland Upper Chesapeake Health (UM UCH), where she has worked since 1995.  In this role, she is responsible for the organization’s physician enterprise of approximately 150 employed providers including practice management and provider recruitment.  Prior to joining UM UCH, she worked at Greater Baltimore Medical Center.

Dinsmore holds a Masters of Business Administration degree from Loyola University of Maryland and an undergraduate degree in accounting from the University of Delaware.  In addition, she is a Certified Public Accountant (inactive license), an alumnus of the Harford Leadership Academy and a native of Harford County.

Karol Edwards is the AVP of Operations and Chief Nursing Officer (CNO) for MedStar Health in Bel Air, MD, overseeing the development and daily operation of four ambulatory care facilities in northern and central Maryland.  Prior to this position, she was an emergency department director at Upper Chesapeake Medical Center, Union Hospital of Cecil County, and MedStar Southern Maryland Hospital Center.  Edwards is a board-certified nurse executive with nearly 30 years of experience in hospital administration, critical care nursing, and ambulatory services leadership.

Edwards holds a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Bob Jones University in Greenville, SC, and a Master’s Degree in Health Care Administration from Bellevue University in Bellevue, NE.

Detra Miller is an Administrative Vice President at M&T Bank.  Currently, Miller oversees all M&T Bank’s branches in Cecil County, Harford County and two branches in East Baltimore County.  In her role, Miller leads and manages a retail sales and operations team comprised of 11 branch managers and 90 branch sales people across the region.  She has been with M&T Bank for over 9 years.

Miller received a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a concentration in Finance from Towson University.  She resides in Baltimore County.

Jeffrey Rink is Vice President, Marketing and Business Development for The Harford Mutual Insurance Companies.  He has been with the company since 2009 when he joined as the Director of Marketing and Business Development and was promoted to Vice President in 2015.  He is responsible for all marketing and sales activities of the company working through his management team and department staff.

Rink graduated from John Carroll and went on to receive his Bachelor of Arts from McDaniel College located in Westminster, MD.  He is active in the local community, as well as the overall insurance community, and is a longtime resident of Harford County, MD.

“We are fortunate to welcome four new Board members who exemplify community spirit and bring talent, energy and expertise to our organization.  We look forward to hearing their fresh ideas on how we can continue to strengthen The Arc NCR in the coming year,” Shawn Kros, CEO.

In addition to several new board members, The Arc NCR also welcomes a New President of the Governance Board and a new Chair of the Foundation Board.  Bradley Stover, Shaffer, McLauchlin & Stover, LLC will be the new President of the Governance Board and Kathy Proctor will become the new Chair of the Foundation Board.

“Both Brad and Kathy have been extremely engaged in our organization for several years and bring a wealth of experience with them in their new leadership roles,” says Shawn Kros, CEO, “They are both extremely dedicated to the Harford County community and will make a strong addition to The Arc NCR.”

Board members’ primary responsibilities include strategic planning, monitoring the organization’s programs and services, ensuring effective fiscal management, fundraising, and promoting The Arc NCR’s activities. The full slate of board members for 2017-2018 is listed below.

Governance Board

Bradley Stover
Shaffer, McLauchlin & Stover, LLC

Vice President
Susan Kemen
APG Federal Credit Union

Wayne Steedman
The Steedman Law Group, LLC

Stephen “Harv” Luongo

Elected Directors
Neill Christopher
Acadia Windows & Doors

Stephanie Dinsmore
University of Maryland Upper Chesapeake Health

Karol Edwards
MedStar Health

Joseph Harter
Self Advocate

Vicki Jones

Kenneth Spicer
Self Advocate

Foundation Board

Kathy Proctor
Self Employed

Vice Chairman
Tony Corea
Justin Retirement

Sue Manning
Freedom Federal Credit Union

Diane Erickson
Aberdeen IronBirds

Permanent Directors
Shawn Kros

Elected Directors
John Coffman
Family Advocate

Rachel Fink
EZShield Fraud Protection

Dennis Metz
SciTech Services, Inc.

Detra Miller
M&T Bank

Jeffrey Rink
The Harford Mutual Insurance Companies

Susan Spencer-Davis
Family Advocate


About The Arc Northern Chesapeake Region:  For sixty-four years, The Arc Northern Chesapeake Region has empowered people with differing abilities to live, work and play in our community by providing support services and advocacy to adults and children and their families in Harford and Cecil Counties. For more information, call 410-836-7177 or visit www.arcncr.org.


The Arc Northern Chesapeake Region
Sara Garbarino, Director of Resource Development
410-836-7177 x355





Business Hours
Monday – Friday
8:30 am – 4:30 pm

Mailing Address
4513 Philadelphia Road
Aberdeen, MD 21001
Phone: (410) 836-7177
Fax: (410) 893-3909